A Banner Year

celebratelifelogo2009 is a big year for Tom and me – we’ll celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary in February; I’ll turn 50 in July; Tom will turn 55 in August (senior discounts here we come!) and our business, Nass Parts and Service, turns 60!

Banner years are always reminders of God’s faithfulness.  But each year of our marriage is to be celebrated and is significant because our relationship models Christ’s relationship with His church.  In fact, each day should be cherished and celebrated.

However, life happens and we can miss the moments worth magnifying.  How often my husband compliments me and vocalizes his love for me., yet I find myself at times nodding as if saying, “I know!”.   God forgive me, this ought not to be!!  What a gift from God his love is, and my heart knows this well.  So why do I make light of it?  Sadly, it can be due to familiarity.

Aesop said, “familiarity breeds contempt”.  In other words, the more you know about someone the more you take them for granted.  I’m grateful that Aesop’s words aren’t the words of life – God’s Word alone holds that honor. And His Word is where marital love is compared to Christ and His church.  (See Ephesians 5:22-32)

So, this year let’s purpose to celebrate our love.  If you haven’t already, take time to plan weekly date nights together.  If you have regular date nights  – ask yourself if they have become familiar?

The best way to shake off the familiar is to plan something new and exciting.  Do something together that you’ve never done before!  Our blog offers lots of ideas for you – but if you don’t find what you need, just ask!  We welcome your questions!  Most of all, let’s demonstrate to the world around us that marriage is indeed a glorious relationship that honors God and reflects His love for the church.  Not to mention that it can be really fun!

Posted by Debi

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks, Tom and Debi, for this great resource you have created for many through this blog. I love reading it. I was wondering if you could share some good “home date-night” ideas. In the season of life we are in, every other week is date night at home to save on babysitter cost. I would love to get some creative ideas on how to make these times special even when staying home. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

